The Ship That Sailed Into The Living Room

July 8, 2011

Alex was going out of town for a few weeks to meet midwives she might apprentice with, so we had a total blowout dinner food party the night before. Part of the blowout dinner food party was tater tots and when I took them out of the oven I was like, “do you want to squeeze ketchup all over them? I know that is the way you like to eat them.” I like to have a ketchup puddle on the side and she likes to have it on top, y’know. But she was like “okay, sure! I had forgotten that I liked to have the ketchup that way.” We have been together for a long time.

I don’t know if I’m going to get around to finishing The Ship That Sailed Into the Living Room, because it is basically a second-wave feminist woman with a tendency to lose herself in relationships blaming relationships for that, instead of- or, complicit with but only augmentarily- being bad at setting boundaries, being bad at figuring out what she wants, codependency, being socialized to lose oneself into relationships, or any of the other work-throughable reasons we have for losing ourselves when we merge into a couple. It’s kind of awesome, in a “I refuse to have a sense of humor or forgiveness about this” way that I associate with eighties feminism; at one point she flips out and calls her friend across the country to talk and her friend is like “just come visit, I’ll buy you a ticket,” and she agrees, sleeps on it, wakes up in the morning and then calls her friend back to be like “Actually, when you offer to buy me a ticket to visit you, that is controlling behavior that takes away my own agency, and from now on I need you to listen to what I’m saying and not offer solutions unless I directly and explicitly ask you for them.” Like, that is awesome! And also makes me probably think I wouldn’t want to be her friend.

So anyway, I shouldn’t really be writing about this book, because I only read a quarter of it. I just wanted to tell you the tater tot story.

Leave a Reply

