The Parable of the Talents

July 3, 2011

I finished this last week and I’ve been trying to think of something to say about it here ever since, but I haven’t really been able to come up with anything. I mean, it was great and all, I was super into it. The “God is change” thing totally works and makes sense, the frequent physical and sexual assaults didn’t feel salacious or superfluous, and the narrative arc worked and made sense and crushed your heart and then re-inflated it. It did everything a book is supposed to do, pretty much, and I think maybe it did all of that so well that I couldn’t even see the gears turning/blood pumping under the surface, ’cause it didn’t even really give me much to hang onto, to talk about. Righteous indictment of Christian America? Check. Exposure of the violence that can underlie stated good intentions? Definitely. A model of a working collective community? Heck yes. Shit so fucked up that it was hard to read? Definitely. I dunno. I’m stoked to read the Parable of the Sower, which I guess takes place before this one.

Leave a Reply

