Robopocalypse

July 3, 2011

I guess that was okay. I dunno. Actually it wasn’t that good. I mean, actually, whatever, it was fine, I just feel resentful toward the fact that this is a book that’s being pushed really hard by marketers and framed as something other than or more than a pulpy robot novel. I mean, dude was smart to name it ROBOPOCALYPSE because that hokey title gives you a hint that it is just going to be a pulpy robopocalypse novel. And it was fine for what it was! I mean, it is totally boring that a book like this is going to culminate in a bunch of military people being an army talking about their guns and formations and other boring things like that, even if they’re a ramshackle operation with their own motivations or whatever. I don’t really care about the assault on robot tower or whatever the fuck- actually, though, if it were an actual assault on an actual ROBOT TOWER, instead of just lazy shorthand I just made up, that would be pretty cool. If he wrote about the tower and the tower was pretty cool.

Instead though, there was a pretty awesome perfect scene where a semi-possessed baby doll fucks with a little girl, and that, as far as I am concerned, was worth the price of admission. (That price was only time because I borrowed ROOOBOOOPOOOCALYPSE instead of buying it.) It was a pretty sick scene with even like cool lighting and stuff. But the rest of this book, I didn’t think the presentation worked; it’s like a sequence of important events involving important people in the ROBOPOCALYPSE, but like, since it’s just a bunch of scenes without much continuity connecting them, I never got that sucked in. I was like, Oh, a robot girlfriend that some old guy has? That’s cool. Oh, a bunch of borderline gross (actually, I would believe someone who told me there was no “borderline” about it) or exploitative depictions of native americans saving people with their wisdom? Uh. Oh, that tween girl has a super robot power skull, that’s pretty cool. But ultimately it just kind of added up to a bunch of mostly okay disconnected scenes involving people who, by the end, I didn’t care enough about to care that the ones who were still alive were doing jankety paramilitary things. Even if they did have cool spider tanks.

So I guess it was pretty fun and I read the whole thing pretty quickly and the metanarrative was about the synthesis of the robot/human dichotomy, which I think is mandatory in 2011. I don’t know. I didn’t hate it. I just don’t see why this is being shelved anywhere other than sci-fi or whatever. I mean, I do- Steven Spielberg bought the rights to the movie before it was even published, so obviously everybody is digging in for a guaranteed successful hit movie in 2013, or whatever. The joke’s on those capitalist fuckers, though, because the world is ending in 2012. Did they forget or something?

One Response to “Robopocalypse”

  1. Andreia Blue Says:

    I’m seeing this hyped everywhere. It’s the kind of thing that stands a half chance of being a good read. Like, I liked Michael Crichton about a third of the time, and that seems to be the niche this aims to fill. By the way, I liked his robot attack movie Runaway, for example.

    You know what was a kick-ass robopocalypse novel? The Two Faces of Tomorrow by James P. Hogan. It came out in 1979 or 1980. It takes like a hundred pages to get going, but when it does it’s a total rush. It’s the last thing of his I liked, I think — he went on to major right-wing dickery. (Or Libertarian. Same difference.)


Leave a Reply

