The Brain That Changes Itself

May 1, 2011

It’s been like a month since I read this, and I can’t remember hating anything about it! It was actually really interesting; I did a completely half-assed job of being a psychology minor/major (finished enough credits to have it be a second major; did poorly enough in those classes for it to be unclear whether I qualified for a second major; never even tried to declare it a second one, just to be safe) when I was in college, so when Mr Doidge was like ‘I don’t want to blow your mind or anything, but the shit they’ve been teaching in undergraduate psych classes for the last forty years is turning out to be wrong, here’s why,’ I ACTUALLY WAS IN DANGER OF HAVING MY MIND BLOWN! I kept being like ‘whoa, whoa, this changes everything!’ which is hilarious just because I’m usually so blase about everything in the world. But, I mean, a girl who was born with only one side of a brain, whose half-brain ended up taking on enough function for her to be pretty much okay? THAT IS RAD! Extensive neuron remapping? THAT IS ALSO RAD! Plus you don’t even know how many times I’ve dropped the word ‘neuroplasticity’ into conversation in the last month.

Leave a Reply

