Forever Odd

August 1, 2010

Ugh I thought I’d be able to gloss over the normativities and just enjoy a trashy novel, but I was wrong. The villain is

-a sex worker
-a vegetarian
-an herbalist
-sex positive

whereas the hero is

-a fry cook
-who was saving himself for marriage until his One Beloved died
-who doesn’t do anything weird.

Boring. I was rooting for the villain the whole time, except she sucked. Plus pretty much nothing happened: SPOILER Odd finds somebody got killed, so he goes to a hotel, where there are some creepy people. THE END. I keep wanting to know what happens in this series, but trudging through its individual volumes is killing me. Dean Koontz’s Frankenstein is workin for me, though.

(this review is from my old goodreads account.)

Leave a Reply

