Little Black Book of Stories

March 1, 2007

I love the way that she writes- it’s restrained and beautiful. I also love the way she twists stories halfway through every time- like, maybe now there should be a monster! Or, now a young woman should show up in the old man’s life and we’ll see what happens. She establishes characters and setting so well, then changes them pretty boldly, in ways that honestly surprise me. And work.

Ultimately though I feel like she does an “I’m an old lady and I don’t believe in wrapping stories up neatly” thing, which leads to stories that feel a little shapeless. Which is fine, it’s just that that doesn’t reflect the intentionality in the stories. Y’know? It makes a lot of sense but it also leaves me feelin a little unfulfilled. Shrug.

Leave a Reply

